Foaming at the mouth…

24 Jan

I like diffused light. I mean, who doesn’t? But I like it a lot.

I’ve re-started this blog as a place to put up some ramblings and reviews of stuff, ’cause I don’t have a personal website set up right now. Plus everybody seems to be getting into the blog scene these days, so I wanted to not lie when asked.

As far as diffused light goes, I have some new material for diffusing called Depron. It’s foam, normally used for making lightweight model airplanes, but is very cheaper and offers an incredibly diffuse light. There’s a significant amount of light loss (about 2-1/3 stops) but it’s worth it. There’s a lot of bounce to it as well, which could be handy to have around.

I have 1mm, 2mm, and 3mm pieces to test right now, and didn’t measure any difference in light loss between them, nor much perceptible change in diffusive quality. The 3mm seems pretty sturdy, and the 1mm cuts nicely into 12″ square pieces to slide into a LitePanel or FloLight LED light.

Pictures to follow as soon as I get a nice big test up and running next week.

Leave a Reply

