Flycam Flujo: The Overhaul Pt. 1

27 Dec

Okay. Here’s some pics of what I’m dealing with:

20131227-005614.jpg
I bought a new socket block assembly. Obviously, this won’t quite fit. Real question is if I’m gonna have to take it to a machine shop. Update: the socket block itself is an almost identical copy of the new one I bought. Interesting, as it fits the new pin just as well as the old one.

20131227-005454.jpg
Pretty sure that all five conductors should be soldered to all five connections. But that’s just me.

20131227-005523.jpg
So. It looks like they put a board doing voltage regulation in the battery pack, off the back. They did put a voltage display in, which is cool but kind of pointless. But here’s what doesn’t make sense to me: why put this regulation so far upstream? Here it’s getting power straight from the batteries, yes, but then it’s going through one or two (three, in case of the J-box) connections, each of which is costing it voltage and amperage.

20131227-005542.jpg
Not terribly clean. Additionally, you might notice that the same wire colors are not present here. That’s a bit of an issue, too–who knows what cord is which, and going where? Wish I had taken a picture of the J-box beforehand–it was like a Skittles bag in there, even more colorful than what’s in the sled or the battery pack.

I think, at this point, I’m changing my original plan, and will go ahead and build it out in such a way that I can get 12/24v in one sled. It’s actually somewhat less complicated, somehow–part of it is that I’m using 5 conductors up the post, as opposed to the 12 of the previous design.

So far, I’ve removed all the components, reassigned connectors to what I want/need, and have removed logos (’cause why let people ask questions?).

20131227-010951.jpg

20131227-011031.jpg

Leave a Reply

