Flycam Flujo: Thoughts

2 Jan

I’ll be adding thoughts to this post as I go along. I’m not great at this whole blogging thing.

– What strikes me most about the Flujo, having opened and poked around in it a few times, is the sheer “un-necessity” of it all. So many options may sound like a selling point, but what do you really need on rig? I mean, maybe a fifth of what came with it. What accessory runs on 9V? If you power a DSLR off the 7.2V output, the camera would be waaay too light for this rig. I guess the A/V pigtails would come in handy if you have a recorder on-board, but this digital age has slightly killed the need for them.
Ultimately, two thoughts occur: firstly, all of these options and connections are setting up this rig for failure right out of the box (as I saw when I hooked a camera up it right out of the box); secondly, what were they thinking when they designed and built this? It’s obvious that many things were copied and/or implemented because someone thought “indie filmmakers need this!” but clearly nobody with much experience had any input to this electrical design of this rig.

– Adding on to that, the cables are weird sometimes. I opened one of them up–a 2-pin Lemo to DC plug, and found four conductors. That’s four little cables for a plug that should only need two. They had paired the four to pins, but that serves no purpose–nothing at a 5V draw is going to need more than one 22awg wire.

– I’ve strayed a little from my original purpose–I wanted to use mostly/only what I had on hand for the process. However, as I’ve gone on, I keep ordering more stuff from Amazon, each day putting something new into it. Hopefully I’ve kept my receipts such that I can tally everything at the end.

(20 Jan 14)

– I’ve hit the point where I’m going to have to start having things custom-made. I thought about having a whole new handle crafted, but have decided instead to adapt what’s there currently. I’ll post about that shortly, but I mostly wanted to say that I’ve come pretty far with just what I have, and short of the post-cable-wiring stuff, I’m pretty happy with the results. It’s now, when I’m starting to add stuff that is more “forward thinking” (i.e., allows for upgrading in the future), that I am straying from the original path.

22 March 2014

– As I’ve mentioned, there’s some really cheap materials in play here. Just wanted to throw up some pictures of key points.

20140322-150206.jpg

20140322-150234.jpg

20140322-150225.jpg

Leave a Reply

