Pardon me while I have a strange interlude.

13 Jan

(Which is a line from my 2nd favorite Marx Brothers movie.)

Anyway, a friend asked me to share a recipe on Facebook. I didn’t want to take up space in the comments, so I thought I’d do it here. It’s a recipe for “vegan bread” which is very versatile–I’ve made rolls, loaves (mini and full), and even hamburger buns, and had great success. I have even made smaller rolls, which I put into a pie pan and froze for a later date (similar to “Mrs. Schubert’s Dinner Rolls,” though the results are hard to replicate.) It’s a bread on the sweet side, which is fine by me. It’s “veganness” or “veganity” (Vogonity?) doesn’t matter a whole lot to me, but it does make it dairy-less, which is cool.

2 c. “tepid” water (I usually put a cup of cold and a cup of hot)

1/2 c. sugar

1 1/2 T. active dry yeast

1 1/2 t. salt

1/4 c. vegetable oil (though I’ve found that full olive oil makes it lighter)

6 c. all-purpose flour

1. Dissolve sugar into water (as much as possible), add yeast. Let it sit ’til it’s frothy (about 20 minutes.)

2. Mix in salt & oil. Fold in flour 1 cup at a time; once all flour is mixed in, dough should be pulling away from the walls.

3. Knead dough on a floured surface until a smooth ball, then let it sit in a PAM-sprayed bowl for at least 1 hour, or until doubled.

4. Punch down; split into loaves/rolls/whatever and knead a little.*

5. Cover and let rise.**

6. Bake at 350-degrees for 22-25 minutes on the middle rack.***

* = if you’re making the “buns”, basically just make a dinner roll, then flatten it between your palms and put it on the pan.
** = I have found that the longer the rise time, the lighter the bread and the better the texture. I usually let it rise for at least an hour in its final form. The only issue is that sometimes the loaf rises enough that it won’t fit between shelves in the oven.
*** = Obviously, baking times differ. I use Pampered Chef stoneware loaf pans that my wife bought me for Christmas of 2013, and they cook pretty evenly with only an 18-minute cook time. But whatever you do, please put the bread on the middle rack. If you don’t have the room, then use two racks to split the oven into thirds, then at the halfway mark switch whatever’s on the top to the bottom, and vice versa.

2015/01/img_6398.jpg

Leave a Reply

