Writing. Well, not just this writing, but, like, writing writing.

17 Jun

I spend a lot of time on the road in my current job. It’s wonderful and terrible–I love spending time travelling and seeing different places, interacting with local crew members, trying different restaurants (on the company dime), but I hate the time I lose with my family, and not being able to take care of things at home. But I’m inclined to complain, regardless of how awesome it is–I mean, I’ve been to the Cotton Bowl, Women’s Final Four (3rd one), and College World Series just six months into this year.

But part of my job involves a lot of sitting around. Press conferences happen after a game is over, which means I have to sit through a game before I get to do anything, and even then I’m mostly just babysitting DVD recorders. So in order to not feel like I’m wasting all my time, I’m trying to write. Not blogs, but screenplays.

I’ve been a writer longer than I’ve been anything else, really. As much as I brand myself a Steadicam op or tech, I’ve been writing and reading heavily since elementary school, whence I wrote a 60-page “Star Wars” novella (which I’m sure my mother still has a copy of, somewhere.) Writing is in my blood, from both my parents, and is also something I haven’t done a whole lot with. Well, not counting the writing classes in college. Or in grad school. Or my thesis. ANYWAY…

I’ve finished the first draft of my first, unbidden, original screenplay. I’m trying something different this time: I actually wrote a first draft, where in the past, I constantly rewrote and edited, so my first drafts were never really “firsts”–more along the lines of 2nd or 3rd. It’s been very difficult for me to not do that, but I kept reading tweets and suggestions to just finish a first draft, and you’ll “feel accomplished.” I did and I do. I also have read that “writing is rewriting” and thought I’d give that a shot, considering that it’s never something I’ve done either. It’s the conflagration of talent and hard work–I need to get the latter under control, because the former will only get me so far.

So if, in the future, you’d like me to read something of yours, or would like to read something of mine, please reach out to me. I’ll try to be fair and balanced, and I’d hope you could do the same for me.

Leave a Reply

